Programming Languages You Should Never Use Again

Manpreet Singh
4 min readFeb 11, 2022

Welcome back! Programming is one of my favorite things to do (well, sometimes it is 😂), so let’s talk about some programming languages you should never use again! Now, I believe learning any programming language will give you value, I just believe that you might want to skip these languages due to them losing popularity.

PHP

Starting off we have PHP, this is still a fairly popular general-purpose language mostly used for web development. It may not seem like this language is losing popularity, but if you take a look at the TIOBE index chart from their website it does show a massive decrease in popularity for this language:

I wouldn’t put all of the attention just on this graph but I have seen in my personal experience the lack of interest with PHP, there seems to be less people mentioning PHP as a language to put your time in learning.

Perl

Next up we have Perl, a general-purpose language that was fairly popular years ago, nowadays it’s definitely not as popular as before, check out the TIOBE index chart below:

--

--